New in Esbjerg

Here are some facts that give an idea about Esbjerg Municipality’s scope and size.

Esbjerg Municipality spans a length of 50 kilometers from north to south, and from east to west, it is 25 kilometers wide. Esbjerg Municipality is located in the southwestern part of Jutland, facing both the North and the Wadden Seas. Esbjerg Municipality borders Varde Municipality in the north, Vejen, and Haderslev in the east and Tønder to the south.

Esbjerg Municipality is one of Denmark’s largest with 116,000 inhabitants.

Esbjerg is Denmark’s fifth largest city and the municipality’s main city with 72,000 inhabitants. The city is quite young and was not developed until after the establishment of the port in 1868. In 1870, only 460 people lived in Esbjerg. However, the city has experienced steady growth since then.

The market town of Ribe is located south of Esbjerg. Ribe is Denmark’s oldest town and a cultural attraction in itself.

The municipality also consists of smaller towns, villages, and suburban areas.